MPCA recognizes 75 wastewater facilities in southern Minnesota for operational excellence

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) recognized 75 wastewater treatment plants (WWTP) in southern Minnesota for outstanding permit compliance. To receive this recognition, facilities were required to demonstrate consistent compliance with monitoring, operations, and maintenance requirements, submit all reports to the MPCA correctly and on time and employ staff certified by the MPCA in wastewater operations.The following facilities in southeastern Minnesota have received the award (facilities are listed alphabetically by city):

Adams WWTP Michael Foods Inc. – Lake Prairie Farm (Le Sueur)
Altura WWTP Lewisville WWTP
Bellechester WWTP Lonsdale WWTP
Blooming Prairie WWTP Mabel WWTP
Blue Earth WWTP Mapleton WWTP
Seneca Foods Corp – Blue Earth Minnesota City WWTP
Brownsdale WWTP Seneca Foods Corp – Montgomery
Byron WWTP Morristown WWTP
Ceylon WWTP New Ulm WWTP
Chatfield WWTP Odin-Ormsby WWTP
Comfrey WWTP Oronoco Estates (Oronoco)
Dexter WWTP Ostrander WWTP
Dunnell WWTP Meriden Township WWTP (Owatonna)
Elmore WWTP MNDOT – Straight River Rest Area (Owatonna)
Elysian WWTP Pemberton WWTP
Fairmont WWTP Pine Island WWTP
Faribault WWTP Plainview-Elgin Sanitary District
MNDOT – Heath Creek Rest Area (Faribault) Hallmark Terrace WWTP (Rochester)
Freeborn WWTP Rochester WWTP/Water Reclamation Plant
Frost WWTP Whitewater River Regional WWTP (Saint Charles)
Saint George District Sewer System (Gibbon) Saint Clair WWTP
MNDOT Albert Lea Travel Information Ctr  (Glenville) Springfield WWTP
Good Thunder WWTP Stewartville WWTP
Grand Meadow WWTP Great River Energy – Lakefield Junction Station (Trimont)
Hammond WWTP Trimont WWTP
Hartland WWTP Truman WWTP
Hayfield WWTP Twin Lakes WWTP
Hayward WWTP Utica WWTP
Hokah WWTP Wabasha WWTP
Houston WWTP Waseca WWTP
Janesville WWTP CenterPoint Energy – Waterville
Kellogg WWTP Waterville WWTP
Kenyon WWTP West Concord WWTP
Lafayette WWTP Camp Victory WWTP (Zumbro Falls)
Lake City WWTP Zumbro Falls WWTP
Lake Crystal WWTP Frontenac Heritage Acres 3rd Addition (Zumbrota)
Le Center WWTP Zumbrota WWTP
Le Sueur WWTP

“The MPCA appreciates the considerable efforts by permittees and operators to protect and preserve water quality,” said Dana Vanderbosch, Assistant Commissioner for Water Policy and Agriculture at MPCA. “It is this kind of difficult work that has enabled Minnesota to significantly reduce pollution coming from point sources like sewage treatment facilities.”A total of 273 wastewater treatment plants across Minnesota are being recognized for the award. Minnesota has approximately 1,600 municipal and industrial wastewater treatment facilities. Community, institution, or treatment plant size were not factors in awarding the certificates.A complete list of winners is available on the MPCA’s Wastewater Treatment Facility Operations Award webpage.